Protection Services

Home » Support Services » Operations » Protection Services

Senior Director: Mr Andre Arendse

André Arendse Web

​EMERGENCY CONTACT NUMBERS:

Saps 10111
APK SECURITY CONTROL ROOM: 011 559 2555
DFC SECURITY CONTROL ROOM: 011 559 6450
SWC SECURITY CONTROL ROOM: 011 559 5555
APB SECURITY CONTROL ROOM: 011 559 1312

Please report all suspicious activity to our campus security control room in your area.

Important Information

Hijack hotspots
Setup hijack hotspot on phone

Contact Details

Tel: +27 (0) 11 559 3127
Email: aarendse@casadelsolportland.com

Issabella De Klerk

Secretary to: Protection Services Director
Contact Details
Tel: +27 (0) 11 559 3147
Email: ideklerk@casadelsolportland.com

SAFETY TIPS

  • Do not walk in public while displaying any valuables.
  • You make yourself a target if you walk with earphones in your ears. Immediately you show would-be criminals that you have a cellphone on you. You are also unable to hear if cars/people approach you from behind.
  • The University has due-care policies. Please familiarize yourself with them. Do not be negligent.
  • Do not fall victim to scammers on internet websites. Before you transfer money for accommodation over to a potential landlord, make sure that the landlord actually exists by visiting the house, speaking to other occupants and confirming that the business is legit!!!
  • Do not approach any vehicles that drive up next to you. There have been instances where a scammer presents himself as a priest or someone that offers you a job. Ignore them and walk to the nearest area with other people around. Robberies are happening during daytime. Young female students carrying luggage and or laptop bags (outside of campus) are being targeted in the Aukland Park / Melville / Hursthill areas.
  • A lot of our students stay in off campus accommodation. When your friend comes over for a visit, under NO CIRCUMSTANCES sit in the vehicle outside of the residence. You are making yourselves a target for a possible hijacking situation. Park the vehicle, go inside and when you are ready to leave, make sure no other vehicles are lingering around in the area.
  • Protect yourself by carrying on you at all times some form of self-defense mechanism. This can be in the form of pepper spray or a taser. Make sure you know how to use these items.
  • Walk in groups where possible, especially at night.
  • Please ensure that house alarms are armed before you leave the premises.
  • Always ensure that valuables and currency are locked away and out of sight.

At all times, remember SAFETY FIRST!

Contact details of all offices

Operations DivisionCampusName E-MailTelephone Number
Director OperationTaarig Kageetkagee@casadelsolportland.com011-599-3103
Director Crime, Risk and EnforcementBusisiwe Mtswenibmtsweni@casadelsolportland.com011-559-7662
Senior Manager: Systems and Access ControlDenney Chitsakadchitsaka@casadelsolportland.com011-559-6975
Systems AdministratorDunisani Miyambodmiyambo@casadelsolportland.com011-559-3759
Campus ManagerAPKHlalele Lisenehlalelel@casadelsolportland.com011-559-3121
Administrator  APKMary Nemaoranimnemaorani@casadelsolportland.com011-559-2997
Acting Campus ManagerAPBAmanda Strydomastrydom@casadelsolportland.com011-559-1026
AdministratorAPBVasthi van Rooyenvvanrooyen@casadelsolportland.com011-559-1017
Campus ManagerDFCIsaiah Ramakgoloramoshibihlar@casadelsolportland.com011-559-6477
Administrator DFCGugu Budaguguthathab@casadelsolportland.com011-559-6432
Campus ManagerSWCWellington Ngubanewngubane@casadelsolportland.com011-559-5523
AdministratorSWCElizabeth Lebeaemlebea@casadelsolportland.com011-559-5441
Event Risk ManagerConrad van der Horstconradvdh@casadelsolportland.com011-559-7575
InvestigatorGrace Nkosignkosi@casadelsolportland.com 011-559-3128
InvestigatorChris Morianacmoriana@casadelsolportland.com011-559-4555
Central Control Roomapkcentral@casadelsolportland.com011-559-7605/6/7/8/9

Emergency contact numbers

NameTelephone Number      Campus
Campus Client Services Center011-559-2555/3400           APK
Campus Client Services Center011-559-1312/1076           APB
Campus Client Services Center 011-559-6085           DFC
Campus Client Services Center 011-559-5555           SWC

​Nearest police station and the contact details thereof

NameTelephone Number   Campus
Brixton Police011-248-5520     APK & APB
Jeppe011-624-6000          DFC
Kliptown 011-945-5924          SWC

​GPS co-ordinates of all PS offices

APK

Apk Security

C/of Kingsway and University Road
Auckland Park
Library Bridge Cellar
Ground floor
26°11’00.2″S 27°59’58.1″E
-26.183381, 27.999476

DFC

Dfc Security

37 Nind street
Doornfontein
2028
Ground floor
Office G01
26°11’32.4″S 28°03’27.2″E
-26.192335, 28.057549

APB

Apb Security

15 Bunting road
Cottesloe
Protection Services Building
1st floor
Office 102
26°11’20.3″S 28°00’58.6″E
-26.188964, 28.016279

SWC

Swc Security

Chris Hani Road
Soweto
Administration Building Block D (uKhamba)
Ground floor
Office ADD 119
26°15’41.4″S 27°55’27.3″E
-26.261510, 27.924257

Safe routes

Safe Route map APB

(click for larger image)

Safe Route Apb

​Safe Route map DFC

(click for larger image)

Safe Route Dfc

​Safe Route map APK

(click for larger image)

Safe Rout Apk

​Safe Route map SWC

(click for larger image)

Safe Route Swc2

Safe Route Swc1